top of page
  • Writer's pictureLucie

Q&A with Music Teacher and Composer Beatrice Ferreira

Updated: Aug 2, 2021

I met Beatrice Ferreira back in November when I attended a masterclass that she led for my teacher's studio, Mapletree Music Montreal. In the masterclass, each participant prepared a piece and received feedback and constructive criticism from Ms. Ferreira. This is a good experience to get feedback from a second opinion other than your private teacher, and it can help you grow musically. Ms. Ferreira is a composer and music teacher who teaches violin, viola, and piano.


What made you realize that you wanted to go into music as a career, and what was

your major in college?


Growing up I always liked music and academics equally. At times I didn’t know if I

should prioritize one over the other. When I took a counterpoint elective my sophomore

year of college, something finally clicked. I felt like I could make use of my reasoning

skills, my musical background, and my imagination in tandem. This eventually led me to pursue a degree in music composition at McGill University in Montreal.


Since graduating, I’ve spent some time thinking about ways I can improve my skills as a

music teacher, in addition to composing. I’ve learnt a lot about myself and my creative

process through the act of mentoring others.


Who were some of the influential musicians that you listened to growing up?


I was fifteen when I first heard George Crumb’s Vox Balaenae played live in concert. I

was intrigued and a little confused because it was so different from any piece of music I

had heard before. Gradually, I became more inspired by new music composers. Their

sense of artistic freedom challenged many of the preconceptions I had about what

classical music could be, including its function in society.


More generally, I think I’ve always admired artists who use music to tell a story. I like

songwriting, folk ballads, rap, spoken poetry, and opera.


What advice would you give to a middle school or high school musician?


First, listen to as much music as possible! After that, I think it helps to stay curious, take

risks, and listen to criticism with an open mind.


What skills or qualities does someone need to have to become a music teacher or a

composer?


Hmmm, I would say the skillset I use to teach is actually pretty different than the skillset

I use when I compose.


One of the biggest differences is that composing is an introverted process. I have to be

comfortable being alone with my thoughts for a period of time. It’s often a relief to bring

a score to a group of players for their input! In contrast, teaching is more about

establishing a relationship of trust and connection. It places me in a more intuitive,

extroverted process of perceiving the needs of another person.


I honestly enjoy both teaching and composing but I could see how someone else would

prefer one process over the other.


What led you to become a teacher and a composer?


I began to teach as a part-time job to help pay for my tuition during undergrad. I found I

enjoyed it and decided to continue to maintain my private studio after I graduated.


How is studying composition different than studying in other music fields?


I think the set roles in music creation are starting to break down, which is a great thing.

You see performer/composers, improviser/producers, multimedia artists, researchers,

and so on. That said, I have a few friends who primarily make improvised music, and

we definitely share common ground when we discuss the process of creating. If I could

gain one skill it would be to develop my skills on viola to compose in real-time - as an

improviser!

37 views0 comments
bottom of page