top of page
  • Writer's pictureLucie

My 10 Day Challenge- World of Great Classics

Updated: Sep 27, 2020

In my last interview with Andy Ly, he mentioned how great it is to listen to the classical repertoire. Since I haven't listened to much classical music growing up, my mother pulled out a 10 record set called World of Great Classics, which had belonged to my great-grandmother. We decided to listen to one record every day for the next 10 days. We're on day 3 of our 10 day challenge. There are many songs that I've played in high school orchestra, as well as some very well known classics. Some of the songs I'd played before included Russlan and Ludmilla, by Glinka, and Meditation from "Thais".

During these difficult times, classical music is a wonderful way to unwind and de-stress. Music has also been found in a study done at UC Irvine, to improve cognitive performance. Deemed "the Mozart effect", the boost in cognitive function and IQ points emphasizes the importance of classical music in our everyday lives.

There are many reasons to listen to classical music, I hope you all will take up my challenge and try to listen to classical music for 10 days! Leave a comment with some of your favorite classical music pieces!







14 views0 comments
bottom of page