top of page
  • Writer's pictureLucie

Introducing Natasha So, Our Newest Violin Instructor!

Updated: Sep 10, 2022

Bow Buddies is thrilled to introduce our newest violin instructor, Natasha So!


Natasha is a freshman at Amador Valley High School, and has been playing the violin for 9 years. Natasha is an accomplished musician, having been accepted to CODA (California Orchestra Directors Association)'s Junior High All-State Orchestra twice, and being waitlisted for the San Francisco Conservatory of Music. In addition, she has won first place at the 2020 Winter NCYT (North California Young Talents) Competition, held by her studio. Natasha is excited to bring her expertise to more young students through teaching at Bow Buddies Music. Read on to learn more about Natasha!



Introduce yourself!


Hello! My name is Natasha So and I’m a current freshman.


What instrument do you play, and how did you start your journey into music?


I currently play violin. I don’t remember how I started, but my mom says she had asked me if I wanted to play an instrument, and I responded “Violin!” I suppose it was fate!


What is your favorite thing about music and your instrument?



The repertoire written for solo violin are simply beautiful pieces (but that’s not to discredit other instruments). I love music as a form of expression and seeing people pour their passion into it. That, I think is the best thing to experience, whether for yourself or in others.


Why did you decide to start teaching for Bow Buddies Music?


One of my friends, a current teacher at Bow Buddies, reached out asking if I wanted to become a teacher, and I accepted the offer!


Who are some of your musical inspirations?


I’m surrounded by lots of talented people, both at school and at home. I always find it a huge inspiration to hear someone your age way better than you— it makes you want to be as good as that. I also love listening to many violinists, old and new. Some people on this list are Hilary Hahn, Ginette Neveu, Jascha Heifetz, Ray Chen, and many others!


Do you have a favorite piece of music?


This is a tricky question, but of solo works I love Claire de Lune by Claude Debussy, A New Satiesfaction (Arr. after Gymnopédie No.1 By Erik Satie), and Violin Concerto No.2 in D minor by Henryk Wieniawski (listen to a version of this by Keila Wakao in the Menuhin Competition!). There are many pieces that I enjoy listening to, but these pieces in particular never fail to give me chills from start to finish.


What's your favorite ice cream flavor?


Pistachio if you’re looking for something unusual. Vanilla/chocolate with sprinkles never fails to deliver though!



 

If anyone is interested in taking violin lessons with Natasha, please fill out the form on the "lessons" section of our website and we will get back to you. Thank you!

 


45 views0 comments
bottom of page