top of page
  • Writer's pictureLucie

An Interview With YPSO Violin 1 Coach, Julie Kim

Updated: Aug 2, 2021

I've been researching youth orchestras in my area. YPSO, the Young Peoples' String Orchestra, was recommended to me by my violin instructor, Julia Reddy. When I reached out with my questions about the audition process, their administrator, Yvonne Brouard, was kind enough to let their staff know about the Bow Buddies blog, where I profile music teachers and musicians. One of their staff, Julie Kim, reached out to me and was generous in sharing her career journey with the Bow Buddies readers. Her achievements are impressive! Bow Buddies readers can feel free to reach out to her regarding private lessons.


How did you get your start with music?


I was predestined to be a musician even before I was born, because my father was a conductor. So when I was 6, I started piano lessons and switched to violin at 6 1/2.


Can you tell us about your career trajectory, and what do you do now in addition to teaching?


Currently, I'm an extra violinist with the San Francisco Opera and Ballet Orchestras. I am a member of the San Francisco Chamber Orchestra and the San Francisco Opera Center Orchestra among others, but those are my main performing jobs. I come from a chamber music background, so I do perform a lot with my quartet in Connecticut a couple of times a year at Yale.


How did your interest in music evolve during your middle school and high school years? 


Since immigrating to the US in 5th grade, I attended SF Conservatory of Music Preparatory Department to study music on Saturdays where I took theory classes, etc. Basically, I practiced through my middle and high school years.

Who were some of the influential musicians that you listened to? 


I listened to lots of old recordings back when I was growing up. I'm a big David Oistrakh and Nathan Milstein fan.


What were some of the experiences you had (positive or negative) with regard to competing or performing as a middle school or high school student?


Wow. So much has changed since I was in middle and high school. I didn't do too many competitions then. I played in a recital practically every weekend which helped me with my stage fright. You have to realize that SF Youth Symphony started AFTER I left high school. Yup, I'm old timer. :)


What were some of the defining moments or experiences that gathered your confidence

towards your music goals? 


I was very lucky and fortunate that every time I needed to make a decision regarding anything to do with my musical path that I chose, the right door always opened for me.

After graduating high school, I went straight into the San Francisco Conservatory Collegiate program with no problem and a full scholarship. I took a chamber music course as an easy credit playing with friends which led me to my career in Quartet playing which took me to many places around the world. It was because of this path that I finally experienced competition life, and luckily we won a lot of them. Most prominently, the Banff International String Quartet Competition, which only happens every 3 years. That opened even more doors like a NY management, Carnegie Hall debut and eventually a Quartet residency at Dartmouth College.


What tips do you have for students either resources online, programs, or suggested activities that students could be doing to prepare in middle school or high school?


I think my best advice would be to play in an ensemble either through school or outside like a youth orchestra. If I can be honest, most of us will be playing in an orchestra of some caliber when we finish with school even if you major in music in College. Very few make it as a soloist.



83 views0 comments
bottom of page