top of page
  • Writer's pictureLucie

An Interview with Professor Miller of University of the Pacific Conservatory

Updated: Aug 2, 2021

This past summer, I attended an online music camp at the University of the Pacific's Conservatory of Music. The camp instructor for violin, Dr. Ann Miller, led us through exercises, had us prepare a solo piece to perform for the group, and receive critique. According to her website, Dr. Miller received her Bachelor's degree from Rice University, and also earned her Master of Music and Doctor of Musical Arts degrees from the Julliard School. Read on for her advice for serious music students!



How did you first become involved with playing music?


My mother is a musician, and she wanted me to have the experience of playing an instrument as part of my education. I started violin and piano lessons at the age of four, and I’ve loved music ever since!


How did this interest lead you down the path of becoming a professor?


When I was in graduate school, I enjoyed teaching. I wanted to find a career that would allow me to teach and to perform. My position at the University of the Pacific affords me the opportunity to do both! I love teaching, and I also love playing chamber music with my faculty colleagues in our piano trio, Trio 180.


What were some of the moments that shaped you into having the confidence to compete in such a competitive environment? For example, did you have any negative or positive experiences auditioning for camps or youth orchestras where you had to develop your perseverance?


Yes, I definitely had both positive and negative experiences. (Though I prefer to think of the negative experiences as growth experiences!) I competed in state competitions when I was young, and I also participated in youth orchestras. These experiences helped me develop the ability to perform under pressure, and they also helped me develop confidence in my abilities. I certainly entered competitions and took auditions that didn’t go my way. While those results were disappointing at the time, I always bounced back and found the determination to practice more.


What do you like about being a professor? What are some of the challenges or opportunities versus being a private teacher or a performer, or do you do both?


I love having the privilege of working with dedicated students who want to share their love of music with others, too. I also love the mentoring aspect of being a professor. Being a private teacher comes with similar benefits. My private teachers were some of the most important mentors to me. I perform as well. The nice thing about being a professor is that I get to do both!


To someone who is serious about their instrument, how many hours a day should they play in middle school or high school?


In middle school, 2-3 hours a day. In high school, 3-4 hours per day is ideal, especially if preparing for college auditions.

22 views0 comments
bottom of page